Rangers are now just 90 minutes away from being crowned new Nigeria league champions after they defeated Ikorodu United 2-0 in Abeokuta to consolidate their leadership of the table.

Rangers have 60 points from 35 matches.

They would need to lose 4-0 at home to El Kanemi and Rivers United win on the final day of the season next Sunday not to be crowned champions after their last triumph in 1984.

Closest rivals Rivers United, who have 56 points, virtually failed to take their title chase right down to the final day of action after they failed to beat visiting Abia Warriors and Wikki fell 1-0 at Shooting Stars.

Rangers Coach indicating they only a point to win the title

FC IfeanyiUbah moved to third on the table after a hard-fought 1-0 home win over regional rivals Enyimba.

‘The Anambra Warriors’ now have 56 points, same as second-placed Rivers United, who enjoy a better goals difference.

Rangers went in front after 26 minutes through a wonder goal by man of the match Obinna Nwobodo, who sighted the Ikorodu goalkeeper was off his line and he chipped him from distance.

The exciting midfielder will then turn provider in the 39th minute when he delivered a cross across the Ikorodu goal for Chisom Egbuchulam to simply tap home.

In the second half, a third Rangers goal was chalked off Ebuguchulam’s acrobatic when striker Bobby Clement helped it on on its way into the net.

However, it was a tensed final minute in Abeokuta after substitute Paul Duke scored for Ikkorodu United from a rather difficult angle.

In Port Harcourt, Rivers United were held to a goalless draw by a spirited Abia Warriors, who are fighting to stay up, while a Samuel Olabisi headed goal in the second half was all home team Shooting Stars to stop Wikki Tourists in Ibadan.

There were home wins for Sunshine Stars, Niger Tornadoes, Heartland and El Kanemi Warriors on the day as well.

Nigeria league results Sunday

Ikorodu United 1 Rangers 2

Rivers United 0 Abia Warriors 0

El Kanemi 1 Plateau 0

Sunshine 1 Warri Wolves 0

Tornadoes 3 MFM 1

Heartland 1 Pillars 0

FC IfeanyiUbah 1 Enyimba 0

Nasarawa United 2 Akwa 2

Shooting Stars 1 Wikki 0